Danika

2016 Mid-Year Reading Assessment

Hey everyone! I’m sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted. Things have been so crazy, and as a result I haven’t been active in book blogging. I am sincerely hoping that will change. I really miss it! So because it’s been so long, I’ve decided to create a few questions as a kind of mid-year assessment of what I’ve been reading in 2016. If you’d like to answer these questions as well, comment below or make your own blog post 🙂 Let’s get into it!

  1. Favourite sequel? I’ve only read three sequels this year, but my favourite would have to be The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima. The Seven Realms is such an excellent series, and I would highly recommend it to fantasy fans. The highlights of this book definitely included the interesting characters and extremely detailed world-building.
  2. Favourite graphic novel? I read four graphic novels so far this year, and there were some really amazing options in that mix! However, my favourite has to go to Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. This was just spectacular. The art, the story, the characters. It was all simply wonderful.
  3. Most surprising book? I had heard great things about this book, but I really did not expect to love To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han as much as I did. I read it practically all in one sitting because it was so addicting! I was consistently engrossed in the story, and completely fell in love with the characters. This is the ultimate cute YA contemporary.
  4. Most disappointing book? I would definitely have to go with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. Sadly, I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. It wasn’t awful, but for the amount of hype surrounding it, I expected so much more. The one element that did live up to my expectations was the haunting photographs.
  5. Most anticipated read? What else could I say for this question but Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne? I’d been waiting impatiently for this book for what felt like forever. Though there were definitely some very odd parts, out of character moments, and unexplained plot elements, it was ultimately just wonderful to be back in the Harry Potter universe. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and dream of being able to see it on the stage!
  6. Least favourite book of 2016 thus far? I would definitely have to go with Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs. In fact, I think this was my only one-star book of the year! I won’t say much here because I wrote a full review here, but the underdeveloped characters and world made this a not-so-great read for me.
  7. Favourite book of 2016 thus far? This is far too tough for me to decide right now, so I had to cheat and choose two novels. Those two are Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein and Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo. What incredible reads these two were! Though drastically different, both of these novels had their own amazing elements, resulting in instant favourites from the both of them. While Rose Under Fire is a gritty and emotional historical fiction, Six of Crows is a character-driven and fast-paced adventure heist story. Please pick up both of these incredible reads!

I hope you enjoyed reading about the books I’ve been reading so far this year! How have your 2016 reads been? Do you have any stellar recommendations?

A Bookish Escape signature

Thanks for stopping by! Comment below with your thoughts :)

